One Direction...

It’s taken me a good few years of severe illness to reach a peaceful understanding that recovery is more of a direction than an actual destination.
Perhaps there is something disheartening in the idea that recovery is not an actual, secure, concrete ‘place’. I sometimes feel frustration… that I just want to ‘get there’. It’s hard to learn that there is no concrete place to stop when you are so weary from the journey you’ve already made. It takes strength, stamina and guts to pull yourself up, to brace yourself and carry on into 2014. I am taking a deep breath and, to borrow the words of a psalm in the bible, setting my’face like flint’, gritting my teeth and carrying on. My hope is that if you have been struggling with something for a while, you can do the same. Take small steps, one at a time, in the right direction.

